Today's Top Stories

Budget constraints, growing expenses plague library

By anthony warren

Senior Staff  Writer

Difficult decisions could be on the horizon for the Jackson-Hinds Library System.

For months, Madison County officials have been discussing what to do about the awful traffic conditions in the county’s unincorporated area of Gluckstadt.


Sun Staff Writer

In anticipation for Reunion Parkway, phase three, Madison County officials will soon place a stoplight at the intersection of Green Oak Lane and U.S. Highway 51 in Madison.

Jennifer David is the new principal at St. Richard Catholic School.

Reverend Walker turns away from accounting to embrace calling to preach

Northsider Kit Whitsett Fields has been named as the official artist for the 2018 competition to be held June 10-23, in Jackson.

Madison County School District purchases buses; cancels lease contract

Madison County Schools students will now be transported by school owned buses with the recent purchase of 125 buses for $10 million. Previously the district had a contract with First Student. “In the past, we have had a contract with First Student,” Dr. Ronnie McGeehee, superintendent of Madison County Schools, said.

Indoor Shooting Range

An indoor shooting range might be a possibility for the city of Ridgeland in the near future. Officials are looking at allowing an indoor range, should a developer propose one.

To make it happen, officials are looking into the safety protocols and precautions, and the zoning ordinance will undergo an alteration.

Online auction

Madison County is renewing their contract with GovEase, a software company that facilitates government improvement at a local level.

The software company will allow Madison County to conduct their second online property auction. Lee County is the only other county in the state using the software.

Gluckstadt Flooding

The county is looking into two different flooding problems in the Gluckstadt area. Recently, the county hired Mendrop Engineering to study Weisenberger Road and Greystone subdivision.

More Development

The west side of Jackson Street is about to get more commercial development. Ridgeland city officials recently approved architectural reviews for parcels 206, 208 and 210 on West Jackson Street.

Patrick Rowland is the developer for the proposal.